Basketball Jones

409

Anytime of season, anytime of day.

I don’t need anyone else.

It doesn’t matter,

Good days or bad,

I just need my fix.

One bounce, a lungful of air through the nose.

A sweet sound-full swish, crisper than an autumn leaf.

My sanctuary, for short hours or long minutes, my mind drifts.

Just the ball, the hoop, and my thoughts.

I always make it with the clock running down.

About peterdbarrows

Student at Grand Valley State University. Sports fanatic, hat collector, literature and movie enthusiast, connoisseur of all things prose. A social media philosopher -- poet in my own time.

Leave a Reply

